Skip to content

Winners of the 2018 Young Builder of the Year Awards announced


Youthbuild UK are delighted to announce that Zinnia Young of Centrepoint/NEAS from Sunderland was chosen as the 2018 Young Builder of the Year and Joshua Smith of Bradford College/Archway from Bradford as the Winner of the 14 to 18 year old category.

The 19th Young Builder of the Year Awards celebrate the achievements of young people, who despite having to overcome a range of barriers have succeeded in training for and or gaining employment in the construction industry.

For the 2018 Young Builder of the Year Awards there is a prize fund of £7,500 and all shortlisted finalists received a certificate and Dewalt tools. Those Highly Commended or Runners Up also received cash prizes. In addition, the Winners also received an engraved trophy. All the Finalists finished their day with a trip on the London Eye.

A special award of £500 of tools was made to Bradford College in recognition of their support in supporting young people enter the construction industry.

We would like to record our thanks to our President, Rt Hon Baroness Smith of Basildon for hosting the event and to thank her for all the support that she has given Youthbuild UK during her time as President.

We are delighted to welcome Rt Hon John Hayes MP as our new President and look forward to working with him in the future.

The Young Builder of the Year Awards would not take place without the support of our sponsors and we thank NHBC, Toolstation, B&CE Charitable Trust, CECA and Bromford for their generous support, for further information please visit our Sponsors page.

The results were announced at the Awards Ceremony held at the House of Commons on Wednesday 17th October 2018 attended by around 150 people, including the finalists, their family members, mentors, employers a range of senior figures from the construction industry and MP’s, as follows: –



Joshua Smith

Bradford College/Archway, Bradford


Jack Ford

Barratt David Wilson, Southampton

Andrew Sykes

Walter Thompson, Northallerton


Callum Pallant

Essex Youthbuild, Chelmsford


Grant Ballantine

Kibble, Paisley

Jake Bradshaw

Centar Surfacing, High Wycombe

Alfie Bristow

St Ed’s, Norwich

Sterling Couture

Kibble, Paisley

Andrew Sykes

Walter Thompson, Northallerton



Zinnia Young

Centrepoint/NEAS, Sunderland

Joe D’Abreu


BAM, London


James Daley

Construction Training South West/Classic Builders, Plymouth

Jake Kreps

BAM, Ely, Cambridgeshire

Jennifer Prosser

Redrow, Liverpool


Warise Anyanwu

Think Big Developments, Nottingham

Kevin Barber

Skanska, Billericay

Pedro Dias

Skanska, London

Anthony Gabriel

Berkeley Group, Southall

Alan Gardiner

Volker Wessells, Hoddledon, Hertfordshire

Iesha Smith

L&Q, London

Ryan Spolton

A14 Integrated Delivery Team/Hercules Site Services, Cambridge

With special thanks to our photographer, Andy Aitchison

Related insights

Interested in supporting Youthbuild UK?

Discover more about supporting Youthbuild UK and how you can help disadvantaged young people succeed.

Contact us